Breadcrumb

Video | FredTalks
FredTalks

How it Works: Looking Inside of an Alternator Clutch Pulley

 

Clutch pulleys became a vital component within alternators in the late 1990s through the introduction of the part by original equipment manufacturers (OEMs). Clutch pulleys, also known as one-way or decoupler pulleys, are designed to decouple the Alternator from the rotational forces of the engine crankshaft pulley and serpentine belt.

In the latest FredTalks video, Bosch Automotive Aftermarket’s Fred Padgett highlights several critical aspects of alternator clutch pulleys. You can expect to learn about the purpose of a clutch pulley, the difference between a clutch pulley and a conventional steel pulley, and why car manufacturers are using this critical alternator component.

After reviewing clutch pulleys, Fred explains that special tools are required to remove and install a clutch pulley on an alternator. To provide the easiest installation and longest-lasting remanufactured alternator, Bosch provides a 100% new OE quality clutch pulley when you purchase a Bosch remanufactured alternator.

Breadcrumb

Vidéo | FredTalks
FredTalks

Comment ça marche : observer l'intérieur d'une poulie d'alternateur débrayable

 

Les poulies débrayables sont devenues un composant vital des alternateurs à la fin des années 1990, lorsque cette pièce fut introduite par des constructeurs d'équipements (OEM). Les poulies débrayables, également appelées poulies unidirectionnelles ou découplées, sont conçues pour découpler l'alternateur des forces rotatives de la poulie de vilebrequin et de la courroie serpentine.

Dans la toute dernière vidéo FredTalks, Fred Padgett, du marché de rechange automobile Bosch, présente plusieurs aspects essentiels des poulies d'alternateur débrayables. Attendez-vous à découvrir les objectifs d'une poulie débrayable, la différence entre une poulie débrayable et une poulie en acier classique et la raison pour laquelle les constructeurs automobiles utilisent ce composant essentiel de l'alternateur.

Après avoir examiné les poulies débrayables, Fred explique que des outils spéciaux sont nécessaires pour retirer et installer une poulie débrayable sur un alternateur. Pour permettre l'installation la plus facile et la plus durable d'un alternateur reconditionné, Bosch utilise une poulie débrayable 100 % neuve de qualité EO lorsque vous achetez un alternateur Bosch reconditionné.